Wannabe Art

A place where one old woman shares her daily ups and downs and her attempts at art with strangers and friends out in Internet land.

Wednesday, May 30, 2007

Grand Kids Are Back

Grand Kids are back for their 6 weeks with Grammy. They are so grown up. We plan to do crafts, go to the beach and the youngest, Greeley B. plans on doing Quilt Art.

This is Camille and Greeley B.

Monday, May 21, 2007

Rufus The Cat Hits The Big 1 Next Month

The little cat that was discarded at the beach and eventually found his way into my home and our hearts turns one year old next month. We are unsure of his actual birthday...so we are celebrating his arrival at our house on June 6th. From now on June 6th will be his "official" birthday. In honor of this big occasion I thought it was only fit to make him a special birthday quilt...but instead of calling it a birthday...we will call it a "bird day" quilt (Thanks Pamela Allen for the idea). He loves to go out on our screen porch and climb up on one of his many perches (all made by my hubby) to view the world that is just out of reach from his claws. He loves to watch the birds, the leaves and the butterflies that flit around in HIS BACKYARD. He has been known to stay in one position for hours.

In a cat's eye all things belong to cats, even those outside the screen.

Saturday, May 19, 2007


I got that dreaded Tag....will list my 7 random facts about myself, but will not tag anyone else....think that there are many bloggers who have already been tagged....so hopefully Beate will not be angry that I am breaking the chain.

Beate Knappe said...
I tagged You.The rules Start with 7 random facts/habits about yourself. People who are tagged have to write their 7 things on their blog. Then choose another 7 people to get tagged and list their names. Don't forget to leave them a comment to tell them they have been tagged and to read your blog.: http://beates-fabric-art.blogspot.com/

My seven random facts:

1. I am a leap year baby...borned on Feb. 29...so instead of being my 63 year old self ...according to actual birthdays I am really only 15 and 3/4th years old.

2. I am living in a beach community that I use to visit as a child. Feel very lucky.

3. I have always wanted to be an owner of an English Bulldog. but because I live in a stilt house that has two flights of stairs am unable and never will be able to be an owner of a bullie. I did settle on a abandoned little cat left here at the beach , that I named Rufus. He will soon be a year old. Am making a quilt for him in his honor.

4. My maiden last name was Hickey and all my life until I got married I was known as "Do Hickey." (I hated it)

5. I adore my daughter, and adore my two grand kids. Feel so lucky to have them in my life.

6. I have a fabric stash that is boxed up and stored in a closet waiting for a time when I have a studio big enough to pull it out and use it.

7. I love visiting blogs and get some of my best inspirations from them....they are better than books!!!